nueva york

spring break was wonderful, but so whirlwind that I almost felt like I needed a break from it as soon as I returned home. (so I might have skipped a few classes.)

nycairedit

after a few wonderful days at home with my family, I got spend a few days in New York City. I started the week out in Washington Heights… enjoyed spending time with some friends from the organization I worked at this summer. I got to see some of the kids who were in my class, as well as hang out with some wonderful coworkers. it was cool to see how things are running around Exodus… and good to be reminded that, as desperate & hopeless as I felt so many times last summer, my efforts don’t end with me… God is faithful to Washington Heights & the kids there.

mobiaedit

momaps1edit

graffitiqueensedit

I got to check out a couple of cool musuems: notabley, MoBiA and the weird but wonderful PS 1 in Queens (the Henry Taylor show was so good). got to see 5 Ptz before it closes… it was cool to see the building up close after riding by it on the 7 so many times.

zachandraedit

then, one of my favorite high school friends came into Brooklyn for the weekend & we did many things, including Shake Shack, a St Patrick’s Day Parade, & (finally) going to Redeemer Pres. thanks for playing, Zach.

subwayseatsedit

New York was real lovely, but I’m (always) happy to be back in Mississippi. thankful for sunshine & wide open space & this little bit of school that is left.

ps… some cool NYC links…

a needed addition, thanks Improv Everywhere!

NYC Public School’s PS 22 chorus… makes me happy every time.

using poetry to promote literacy in the Bronx.

kinda cool timelapse video.

This entry was posted in adventures, travels and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

