the darndest things

Untitled

I teach kindergarten through 5th grade spanish at a magnet elementary school. in a desperate effort to get to know some of the 287 kids I teach at the very beginning of the year I made a “get to know you” type survey for the older grades. I discovered a stack of the completed surveys on my shelf the other day. here are some of my favorite responses…

what is one thing you would like ms. broom to know about you?

“I am smart and kind and fun and funny and also good at singing.”

“I have food allergies.”

“I reeeeeally miss my old Spanish teacher but you seem nice.”

if you could go to any country in the world, which one would you visit?

four children responded with, “florida.”

what do you want to be when you grow up?

“a peedeeuhtrishiun. not sure if I spelled that right but I want to be a kid doctor.”

if you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

“prom.”

“the mall.” (dreamin’ big)….

& my personal favorite, “court.” I was a little worried about the child who wrote “court” until I looked up & saw that, for “what I want to be when I grow up” he had put “lawuhyor” (lawyer). at least he’s shooting for the right side of the bench.

what did you learn in Spanish last year?

“I learned that ‘cafe’ is a color and also coffee and also a place to eat.”

what do you want to learn in Spanish this year?

as they were taking the survey, I saw a little girl writing “nothing” in answer to this question. I stopped by her desk & asked her why she put that. she said that she didn’t want to learn anything new in Spanish. I told her that wasn’t a very good attitude to have & Spanish was going to be so fun, etc. then she said, “ms. broom I think you need to look at what I put at the top of my paper.” sure enough, at the top of the sheet she had written, “ms. broom my mom is from nicaragua and we speak Spanish at home so I already know my words in Spanish.” touche, kiddo. touche.

these kids are smart & spirited. & even though they overwhelm me, they always make my days.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the darndest things

  1. bunny102 says:

    Omg, this was so cute. I <3 that little girl's answer. Score one for the youth of society!

Leave a Reply

