homemade pizza

photo 3 (3)

Friday night is a dilemma. It’s the beginning of the weekend, so you feel like you should do something fun. It’s also the end of the work week, so you’re completely exhausted. Or I am, anyway. We used to try to go on a date Friday night. It would be able 7:30 and we’d still be dragging around getting ready, which would usually turn into a conversation about whether or not it’d be better to just use our date money to order pizza. After going on this way for awhile, we finally figured out a solution. Now, we go on a date on Saturday night. And because it’s the weekend… because we want fun food… because we don’t have an unlimited take out budget… we make homemade pizza. We pick up a pint of ice cream from McDades. We watch Netflix, read, or play chess. It’s the perfect way to start a weekend. I mentioned at the end of this post that homemade pizza was one of my favorite 2013 discoveries and I thought I’d share in a little more detail here.

We started with this Jim Lahey crust, via Dinner: A Love Story. I love the Jim Lahey no knead bread recipes, so I figured this crust would be an instant hit. And it was good– really good. Not great, but better than canned dough, for sure. Then, since I wasn’t just bowled over by it, I decided to try this crust recipe, via Annie’s Eats. It was definitely better than the Jim Lahey crust– a little breadier, softer, but in a good way. I think I’d go as far as to say it’s great–definitely good enough that I won’t be actively looking for another one anytime soon. (I would love to see how it tastes spread really thin. I’ve put off investing in a pizza stone, so I’m just rocking along on my little 12″ circular cookie sheet.)

We buy the ball mozzarella in the cheese section at Kroger, usually I can find a 2.50 managers special or something. We also always shred some fresh parmesan on the top right before popping it into the oven. Super yummy.

Our favorite pizzas we’ve made are this pizza margherita (the sauce is worth the time it takes to make… spread half of it over the pizza and freeze the other half for next time) and this simple but delicious pizza with proscuitto and caramelized onions. Next on our horizon is: bacon, potato, & caramelized onion pizza, sundried tomato pesto pizza, steakhouse pizza, grilled vegetable pizza… the possibilities are endless.

Do you have a go to homemade pizza? I’d love to try ya’ll’s recipes. Anyone invested in a pizza stone? Is it worth it?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to homemade pizza

  1. Cindy Lee says:

    Ruth Ann,
    I am your mom’s friend, Cindy Lee. We have homemade pizza and a movie every Saturday night. I did invest in a stone but never got it to come out right. Then my husband hit upon this pizza pan at Williams Sonoma. It’s called goldtone or something like that and it has holes all in it that make the crust brown on bottom. It didn’t require preheating it or anything. We loved it so much that I went and bought another one. I had one from Bed Bath and Beyond and it didn’t compare to the one at Williams Sonoma….something about what it was made of. It was $20.

  2. Mimi says:

    I loved that you said you wanted fun food because that is what it’s called at our house too. We have homemade pizza almost every weekend. I make my own crust and it is so easy! I use The Pioneer Woman’s recipe. It makes 2 large pizzas. It can be frozen and you can also leave it in the refrigerator for up to a week and it’ll continue to rise.
    A pizza stone is worth the investment. You can bake all sorts of food on it. The important thing is it needs to be seasoned and cared for like an iron skillet. The crust will crisp nicely on a stone.
    Kudos to y’all for finding an economical way to have fun!

  3. Annie says:

    So glad you enjoyed the pizza dough. I promise, the pizza stone is totally worth the investment. It makes such a difference! I don’t think this dough is meant for a thin crust, but I do have a separate thin crust recipe on the blog that is great.

  4. Pingback: january | gathering moss

Leave a Reply

