365.

1008781_397753327001532_1704293063_o

Today we’ve been married for one year. 52 weeks. 365 days. Sometimes our wedding seems like it happened yesterday, sometimes it feels a decade ago. I wonder if that’s how I’ll feel forever.

People ask us all the time, “How’s married life?” And it seems like they either expect for us to gush or groan, for the first year of marriage to be totally awful or absolutely blissful. I don’t think it’s been either one of those things for us. It’s been easy some days and hard other days. Silly and fun some days and serious other days. We’ve worked through issues we knew we had and issues that took us by surprise. We’ve had lots of good things take us by surprise, too.

David, thank you for the mornings you made me hot tea when it was cold and I was sad. Thank you for remembering that I love yellow flowers and mint chocolate chip ice cream. Thank you for tucking flowers behind my ears and twirling your hair in your fingers. Thank you for slow dancing and patting my back when I cried. Thank you for walking with me through this cold, hard winter. Thank you for asking me to marry you and then following through on it a year ago, for standing up in front of all those people and saying that you love me. Thank you for reminding me of that often. Thank you for dancing in the car. Thank you for all those moments that, when you add them up, make a good life. We have a good life–just like you said we would.

My favorite part of our marriage vows was this sentence: I will join with you in the mission God has entrusted to us. And that’s my favorite thing about being married to you. Having a partner in life, in this big joyful hard mission of making the kingdom come. I’m thankful for all those times Jehovah’s Witnesses and homeless people and neighborhood kids knocked on our door and we answered it together. Thankful for the times we cleaned the house together, prayed together, did hard things together. One time this year we had an especially insane day–one of those days where you literally only have 10-20 minutes between each activity all the way up until bedtime. I was stressed out; I checked my phone at school and had a voicemail from you. I don’t remember exactly what it said, but I remember you saying “I know it’s a crazy day, but it’s going to be fine, we’ll work together and get it all done.” And that’s exactly what we’ve been doing for 365 days. Working side by side. Getting it done. Experiencing goodness and mercy. And with God’s continued grace, that’s what we’ll do for the next 18,250 days (approximately). I’m thankful.

Yours,

Ruth Ann

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 365.

  1. Merileigh Furr says:

    Nice!!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

