accelerated reader: january

IMG_0811

January is usually a good month for reading, due to Christmas books & time off from work. This one was no exception. Here’s what I read in January 2015.

Dumplin’ – Julie Murphy | I adored this YA book. The main character was sassy, insecure, and so darn likable. I probably wouldn’t recommend for kids younger than high school due to some mature content, but I loved the story of family, friendship, and finding yourself. And all the Dolly Parton stuff was just plain fun.

Just Mercy – Bryan Stevenson | Is it too early to pick my favorite non fiction read of 2016? Just Mercy was compelling, convicting, heart breaking, encouraging. A must read for anyone who cares about our country’s justice system being truly just. It was thought provoking while remaining intensely human, emotional without being heavy handed. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Coming Clean – Seth Haines | Haines’s memoir of sobriety was well-written and so thoughtful. It got a bit repetitive in places for me, but is definitely worth reading–it’s not an addiction story, it’s a human story. Challenging.

Uprooted – Naomi Novak | I hadn’t read a fantasy book since Wildwood last year and this was a good reentry into that world. The book was well-written and deeper than your typical fairy/fantasy story. The end was a little confusing to me, but I enjoyed the book over all.

Everybody Rise – Stephanie Clifford | This book stressed me out. The main character is a social climbing wanna-be that goes to great lengths to be accepted into the world of Manhattan’s elite. You know when you’re watching a TV show and the main character does something that you KNOW is going to backfire and you’re just sitting there, feeling uncomfortable for them and waiting for the inevitable fallout? That’s how I felt for most of this book. The ending was somewhat redeeming. Other than that, it reminded me a little bit of Curtis Sittenfeld’s stuff, which I’m not crazy about.

Happiness for Beginners – Katherine Center | Someone said this was like if Brene Brown wrote fiction and I think that’s spot on. It was a lot “lighter” than my typical read, but the themes of thankfulness, vulnerability, and self-discovery were handled well. I didn’t think I was going to be able to buy into the central relationship, but I did. And, as always, I love a good sibling story. Good beach book / read when you have a lot of other things going on book.

p.s. Yes, I am all aboard the adult coloring book train. My favorites
are this one and this one… and these pencils are the absolute best.

This entry was posted in sunshine, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to accelerated reader: january

  1. Seth Haines says:

    Thanks working your way through Coming Clean. I appreciate it. I’ll definitely be checking out Just Mercy.

Leave a Reply

